Byron Caldwell Smith Book Award

Award Name: 
Byron Caldwell Smith Book Award
Award Description: 
The Byron Caldwell Smith Award was established at the bequest of Kate Stephens, a former University of Kansas student and one of the University's first women professors. As an undergraduate at the University of Kansas, Kate Stephens learned to love the study of Greek language and literature from Professor Byron Caldwell Smith. In his name she established this award, given biennially to an individual who lives or is employed in Kansas, and who has authored an outstanding book published in the two calendar years preceding the year of the nomination deadline. Authors can choose to be considered in either the Fiction or Non-Fiction categories. One award per category is given each competition cycle, for a total of two awards.
Award Unit: 
KU Units
Award Eligibility: 
Award Owner: 
Hall Center for the Humanities
Award Rank: 
Award Call: 
Award Application Deadline: 
Award Summary: 
Author of outstanding book.
Award Application Process: 

Policy Library Search

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

Green Office

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today