• Home
  • Ned Fleming Trust Award

Ned Fleming Trust Award

We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2019-2020 Academic Year.

The Ned N. Fleming Trust Award was established by a bequest from the late businessman, Ned Fleming, of Topeka in 1990. The award includes a one-time stipend of $5,000, less applicable taxes. The recipient will be announced and honored at the Center for Teaching Excellence Teaching Summit on August 22, 2019.

All full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty who have not previously received a Chancellor’s distinguished teaching award are eligible for nomination

Nominations were due by Friday, May 10, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. Submit all materials online hereThe chair or dean endorsement (if applicable) may be submitted separately from the nomination materials either online or in hard copy. Complete Eligibility and Nomination Procedures can be found here. (pdf) (word)

Lisa Wolf-Wendel has been named the 2019-2020 Recipient of the Ned Fleming Trust Award. 

Past Recipients
  • 2018, Mark Mort, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • 2017, Evanglia Chrysikou, Psychology
  • 2017, Ward Lyles, Urban Planning
  • 2016, Giselle Anatol, English
  • 2015, Jeffrey Hall, Communication Studies
  • 2014, Jonathan Lamb, English
  • 2013, Cynthia Colwell, Music
  • 2012, Dave Tell, Communication Studies
  • 2011, Stephen Ilardi, Psychology
  • 2010, Andrea Wertzberger, Design
  • 2009, Joseph O' Brien, Curriculum and Teaching

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today