Sabbatical Leave

One Hundred and Thirty-One Years of Supporting Faculty Scholarly Leave

The first documented sabbaticals in the country were awarded at Harvard University in 1880. KU has been awarding sabbaticals since 1887!

Faculty members interested in applying for sabbatical leave should consult the guidelines and policies concerning sabbatical leave and attend the Open Meeting on Sabbatical Leaves, May 1, 2018, from 3:30-5:00 in the Centennial Room of the Kansas Union. It is recommended you attend the open meeting if you are planning to apply for sabbatical leave. 

 Here is the handout for the open meeting.

Sabbatical Leave Deadlines:

Below are important dates for the sabbatical leave process.

  1. Applications for sabbatical leave should reach the Office of the Provost no later than Thursday, November 1, 2018, at 5 p.m., for sabbatical leaves during the 2019-2020 academic year. The individual schools, college, or divisions will establish specific earlier dates for submitting applications to allow for peer review, evaluation and endorsement before the November 1 deadline.
  2. Any eligible faculty or academic staff member may submit an application for a sabbatical leave without the endorsement of the departmental chairperson, dean or director. Such applications must reach the Office of the Provost by Friday, August 31, 2018, at 5 p.m., and will be referred to the appropriate department/unit and/or school for comment. They will be treated in the same manner as other sabbatical leave applications. Completed applications may be sent via email to
  3. Applications received after the published deadlines or incomplete applications will not be accepted for review.


Department/Center, Schools without departments, and Libraries Evaluation Form: 

Schools with departments, College, and Office of Research Evaluation Form: 


2018-2019 University Committee on Sabbatical Leaves

Name Department/School Term Expires
Carl Lejuez Interim Provost  
Tamara Baker Professor, Psychology 2020
Yvonnes Chen Associate Professor, Journalism 2020
Alex Diener Associate Professor, Geography and Atmospheric Science 2020
Katherine Rhine Associate Professor, Anthropology 2019
Teruna Siahaan Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry 2019
Kevin Willmott Professor, Film & Media Studies 2019



Policy Library Search

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

Green Office

Why KU
  • One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
  • 44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
  • 23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times