Marvin Forum, Marvin Hall

Byron T. Shutz Award for Excellence in Teaching

We are now accepting nominations for the 2021-2022 Academic Year.

The Byron T. Shutz Award was established by the late Byron T. Shutz in 1978. The Shutz Award carries with it the expectation that the recipient will deliver a public lecture. At the time of the lecture, they will receive an award of $4,000, less applicable taxes, and a reception held in the recipient’s honor. The recipient was announced and honored at the Center for Teaching Excellence Teaching Summit.

All full-time tenured faculty are eligible for the award which alternates between recognizing excellent teaching in business and economics in even-numbered years, and outstanding teaching in any discipline in odd-numbered years. This year tenured faculty members in any discipline who have not previously received a Chancellor's distinguished teaching award are eligible for nomination.

Nominations are due by Friday, June 18, 2021, at 5:00 p.m. Submit all materials online here. The chair or dean endorsement (if applicable) may be submitted separately from the nomination materials online. ​Complete Eligibility and Nomination Procedures can be found here.


Past Recipients
  • 2020, David Slusky, Economics
  • 2019, Julia Broxholm, Music
  • 2018, Suman Mallik, Business
  • 2017, Laura Mielke, English
  • 2016, Felix Meschke, Business
  • 2015, Nicole Hodges Persley, Theatre
  • 2014, Jide Wintoki, Business
  • 2013, Jeremy Shellhorn, Design
  • 2012, Donna Ginther, Economics
  • 2011, Debra Hedden, Music
  • 2010, Kissan Joseph, Business
  • 2009, Scott Murphy, Music and Dance
  • 2008, Elizabeth Asiedu, Economics
  • 2007, Kathryn Conrad, English
  • 2006, Dietrich Earnhart, Economics
  • 2005, Marni Kessler, Art History
  • 2003, Ted Juhl, Economics
  • 2001, C.R. Snyder, Psychology
  • 1999, Anton Rosenthal, History
  • 1995, Deborah J. Gerner, Political Science
  • 1992, Allen Ford, Business
  • 1991, Akira Y. Yamamoto, Anthropology and Linguistics
  • 1990, Thomas Weiss, Economics
  • 1988, William Kuhlke, Theatre and Film; Slavic Languages & Literature
  • 1987, John W. Gergacz, Business
  • 1986, Richard S. Givens, Chemistry
  • 1985, Morris M. Kleiner, Business
  • 1984, David J. Faurot, Economics
  • 1983, Rex Martin, Philosophy
  • 1981, David M. Shulenburger, Business
  • 1980, Malcolm R. Burns, Economics
  • 1979, Anthony M. Marino, Economics

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today