Faculty Awards

  • Chancellor GirodChancellors Club Career Teaching Award The award is intended to recognize the teaching contributions made to the University by a member of the faculty over a period of twenty years or more. To be eligible for consideration, the faculty member should be within five years of intended retirement from the University. Nominations will be accepted through May 4, 2018. 


  • Ned Fleming Trust Award The Ned N. Fleming Trust Teaching Award was established by a bequest from the late Mr. Fleming of Topeka. The award includes a one-time stipend of $5,000. Faculty members are nominated for this annual award by deans, department chairs, or faculty colleagues. Nominations will be accepted through May 4, 2018. 


  • Byron Shutz Award The Byron T. Shutz Award for Excellence in Teaching was established by the late Byron T. Shutz in 1978. The recipient of the Shutz Award  receives a one-time stipend of $4,000 and delivers a public lecture later in the academic year. The lecture is followed by a reception in the recipient’s honor. Faculty members are nominated for this annual award by deans, department chairs, or faculty colleagues. Nominations will be accepted through May 4, 2018.


  • Wall of awardsBob & Kathie Taylor Excellence in Teaching Award This award is newly established this year, made possible through a generous donation by Bob and Kathie Taylor. This award recognizes a longstanding KU lecturer or other non-tenure track faculty or academic staff member whose career exemplifies best the commitment of the university to outstanding teaching and the long-term success of students.


  • Silver Anniversary AwardThe Silver Anniversary Teaching Award is supported by contributions of the 25-year alumni class. The award includes a one-time stipend of $2,500. Nominees for this annual award are selected from department chairs or faculty peers. This award is not open for nominations at this time.
  • George & Eleanor Woodyard International Educator AwardThe George and Eleanor Woodyard International Educator Award (formerly the Provost’s Award for Leadership in International Education) recognizes faculty who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in strengthening KU’s international dimension. The award is worth $1,000.
  • H.O.P.E. Teaching AwardThe H.O.P.E. (Honor for the Outstanding Progressive Educator) Award was established by the KU class of 1959 to recognize the recipients’ outstanding teaching and concern for students. It is the only KU award for teaching excellence bestowed exclusively by students and is led by the Board of Class Officers. The winner is selected by the senior class members and the award is presented in the fall semester of the senior class year.
  • Xiuzhi Susan Sun, Winner of the 2011 Irvin Youngberg Award for Applied SciencesHiguchi-Endowment Research Achievement AwardsIn 1981, Higuchi and his wife, Aya, established a program to recognize research accomplishments of researchers at Kansas Board of Regents institutions. The four Research Achievement Awards are named for four individuals — Balfour S. Jeffrey, Olin K. Petefish, Dolph Simons Sr. and Irvin E. Youngberg — in recognition of their contributions to the KU research program. In describing these honorees, Higuchi said "They gave themselves unselfishly for the betterment of the university and the state."

    The call for nominations goes out in the spring of each year.

  • Russell Swerdlow, 2012 Recipient of University Scholarly Achievement AwardUniversity Scholarly Achievement AwardEach year KU will recognize mid-career star faculty members through the University Scholarly Achievement Award. The monetary award recognizes research impact of major significance by either a single discrete scholarly or research contribution, creative work, or a series of closely related contributions. For more information on the award, eligibility requirements, and nomination procedures, please see the Call for Nominations, sent in October 2018. The selection panel may recommend up to four awards each year depending on the number of meritorious nominations.
  • Leading Light AwardThe Provost’s Office and the Office of Research and Graduate Studies at KU are sponsoring a special new recognition — called the Leading Light Award — to highlight the accomplishments of single principal investigators and teams of principal investigators for their efforts in obtaining a research grant totaling at least $1 million. By contributing to the research enterprise at KU in a major way, these PIs serve as leading lights and role models for others.

    The symbol for the Leading Light award is the state flower of Kansas — the sunflower. Each first-time recipient of the award will receive a specially designed and engraved brass sunflower, and a sunflower will be planted in his or her honor somewhere on campus. All recipients (both first-time and continuing) will be invited to a recognition luncheon, where their efforts will be celebrated and the awards presented. These luncheons, starting in the spring, will be scheduled throughout the year to accommodate the numbers of awardees.

Policy Library Search

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

Green Office

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today