• Home
  • Chancellors Club Teaching Award














Chancellors Club Career Teaching Award

We are no longer accepting nominations for the 2020-2021 Academic Year!

We are pleased to solicit nominations for the Chancellors Club Career Teaching Award, which is made possible through funds provided to the KU Endowment Association by members of the Chancellors Club at the University of Kansas.

Organized in 1977, the Chancellors Club unites a group of individuals who desire to provide a substantial amount of unrestricted resources on an annual sustaining basis. The award carries a stipend of $10,000, less applicable taxes, and is presented annually to a longstanding KU professor whose career exemplifies best the commitment of the university to outstanding teaching and the long-term success of students. An announcement of the recipient of the award will be made at the Chancellors Club dinner during the fall semester. Nominations are invited from students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the University.

Nominations were due by Friday, May 29, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. Submit all materials online here. The chair or dean endorsement (if applicable) may be submitted separately from the nomination materials online. Complete Eligibility and Nomination Procedures can be found here.


Maryemma Graham is this year's recipient of the Chancellors Club Career Teaching Award


Past Recipients
  • 2019, Jack Porter, Mathematics
  • 2018, Charles Marsh, Journalism and Mass Communication
  • 2017, Edwin Hecker, School of Law
  • 2016, Barbara J. Anthony-Twarog, Physics and Astronomy
  • 2015, James Carothers, English
  • 2014, James Orr, Molecular Biosciences
  • 2013, Kathryn Vickers Unruh, Spanish & Portuguese
  • 2012, John Nalbandian, School of Public Affairs and Administration
  • 2011, Allen Ford, School of Business
  • 2010, Richard T. DeGeorge, Philosophy
  • 2009, James Shortridge, Geography
  • 2008, Val Stella, Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • 2007, Mohamed El-Hodiri, Economics
  • 2006, Donn Parson, Communication Studies
  • 2005, Ron Borchardt, Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • 2004, William Tuttle, American Studies
  • 2003, Jan Roskam, Aerospace Engineering
  • 2002, Roger Shimomura, Art
  • 2001, Don Green, Chem & Petrol Engineering
  • 2000, Robert D. Brown, Mathematics
  • 1999, Jack Landgrebe, Chemistry
  • 1998, Cynthia Schira, Design
  • 1997, Marilyn Stokstad, Art History
  • 1996, Dick Wright, Fine Arts
  • 1995, Nancy Dahl, Physiology
  • 1994, George Worth, English
  • 1993, Earl Huyser, Chemistry
  • 1992, Ross McKinney, Civil Engineering
  • 1991, Robert Hersh, Biological Sciences
  • 1990, John Augelli, Geography
  • 1990, Bill Conboy, Communication Studies
  • 1989, Marie Cross, HDFL
  • 1988, Robert Antonio, Sociology
  • 1988, Howard Baumgartel, Psychology
  • 1987, Hob Crockett, Comm Studies & Psych
  • 1987, Calder Pickett, Journalism
  • 1986, Francis Heller, Law
  • 1985, Jed Davis, Theatre
  • 1984, George Jenks, Geography
  • 1983, Kenneth Rose, Mechanical Engineering
  • 1982, Barbara Craig, French


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today