Sabbatical Leave

Faculty members interested in applying for sabbatical leave should consult the guidelines and policies concerning sabbatical leaves and attend the Open Meeting on Sabbatical Leaves, Wednesday, April 29, 2015, 4:00 p.m., Jayhawk Room of the Kansas Union. Here is the handout. It is recommended you attend the open meeting if you are planning to apply for sabbatical leave. There are many more applications than leaves that can be awarded.

Sabbatical Leave Deadlines:

Below are important dates for the sabbatical leave process.

  1. Applications for sabbatical leave should reach the Office of the Provost no later than Monday, November 2, 2015, at 5 p.m., for sabbatical leaves during the 2016-2017 academic year. The individual schools, college, or divisions will establish specific earlier dates for submitting applications to allow for peer review, evaluation and endorsement before the November 2 deadline.
  2. Any eligible faculty or academic staff member may submit an application for a sabbatical leave without the endorsement of the departmental chairperson, dean or director. Such applications must reach the Office of the Provost by Tuesday, September 1, 2015, at 5 p.m., and will be referred to the appropriate department/unit and/or school for comment. They will be treated in the same manner as other sabbatical leave applications. Completed applications may be sent via email to
  3. Applications received after the published deadlines or incomplete applications will not be accepted for review.


  • Sabbatical Leave Request Form (including instructions)
  • School of Business and School of Social Welfare applicants ONLY may use this web form to apply (Please use the latest version of Firefox, IE or Safari to open this link. There are known issues with Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge).

Department/Center, Schools without departments, and Libraries Evaluation Form:

Schools with departments, College, and Office of Research Evaluation Form:


2015-2016 University Committee on Sabbatical Leaves

Name Department/School Term Expires
Sara Rosen Interim Provost  
Brent Metz Associate Professor, Anthropology 2017
Milena Stanislavova Professor, Mathematics 2017
Jennifer Ng Associate Professor, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies 2018
Laura Mielke Associate Professor, English 2018
Patricia Manning Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese 2016
TBD   2017
Steven Maynard-Moody Professor, School of Public Affairs & Administration 2016
Michael Murray Professor, Physics & Astronomy 2018
Belinda Sturm Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering 2016



Office of the Provost
There are no upcoming events at this time.
Policy Library Search

Visit the Policy Office for more information.

Green Office

Why KU
  • One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
  • 26 prestigious Rhodes Scholars — more than all other Kansas colleges combined
  • Nearly $290 million in financial aid annually
  • 46 nationally ranked graduate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
  • 23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times